| California | You must be at least 18. | Complete the Power to Arrest training. | 32 hours of security officer skills training within your first six months. | 8 hours of continuing training annually. | Submit your renewal at least 60 days before the registration expires. | $60 for a new registration and $44 to renew (the current column of the BSIS fee schedule). |
| Florida | You must be at least 18. | At least 40 hours of professional training from a school licensed by FDACS. | Not stated in the sources we use | Not stated in the sources we use | $45 license fee plus $16.75 fingerprint retention to renew a Class D. | $97.75 in total: $42 fingerprint processing, $10.75 fingerprint retention and a $45 license fee. |
| Georgia | Not stated in the sources we use | At least 24 hours of classroom instruction (the rule in effect since January 1, 2022), completed before you start providing security services. | Not stated in the sources we use | 8 hours of continuing education before each registration renewal. | Employee registrations expire on August 31 of each odd-numbered year. | Not stated in the sources we use |
| New York | You must be at least 18 to apply. | 8-hour pre-assignment training, taken once; include the certificate with your application. | 16 hours of on-the-job training within 90 days of starting work. | An 8-hour annual in-service course each calendar year. | The registration lasts two years; you need two annual in-service courses in that period to renew. | $36.00 non-refundable application fee to the Department of State. |
| North Carolina | Not stated in the sources we use | A 16-hour unarmed security guard course. | Not stated in the sources we use | Not stated in the sources we use | The unarmed registration expires one year after it is issued and must be renewed every year. | $68 for a new unarmed registration, plus processing fees. |
| Ohio | Not stated in the sources we use | Not stated in the sources we use | Not stated in the sources we use | Not stated in the sources we use | The registration expires each year on the anniversary of issue. The renewal fee is set by the director, capped at thirty-five dollars. | Set by the director; state law caps it at forty dollars. |
| Tennessee | You must be at least 18. | 4 hours covering orientation, legal powers and limits, emergency procedures and general duties. | Not stated in the sources we use | 2 hours of refresher training before you renew. | Renew every two years. There is a 90-day grace period with a $20 late fee for each month. | $95 to apply and $70 to renew for 2 years. |
| Texas | Not stated in the sources we use | Pass the Level II training course and test, given by a licensed training school or by a licensed guard company. | Not stated in the sources we use | Not stated in the sources we use | You can't file a renewal until you've earned any continuing education hours DPS requires. | $37 for an original or renewal non-commissioned license (30 + 5 + 2 on the DPS fee schedule). |